Versant Venture Capital last closed a fund in October 2022 — 47 months ago.
Late-cycle This firm is far enough into its last fund that a new raise would be normal.
Still filing with the SEC: May 2024. That is an amendment to an existing offering, not a new fund - which is what an evergreen structure looks like in this data.
| Vehicle | First close | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Versant Venture Capital IX, L.P. | October 2022 | $600M |
| Versant Venture Capital VIII, L.P. | November 2020 | $560M |
| Versant Venture Capital VII, L.P. | September 2018 | not stated |
| Versant Venture Capital VI, L.P. | November 2016 | not stated |
| Versant Venture Capital V, L.P. | October 2013 | not stated |
| Versant Venture Capital SPV I (SAB), L.P. | April 2024 | $5M |
Alex Mayweg, Bradley Bolzon, Carlo Rizzuto, Charles Warden, Clare Ozawa, Jerel Davis, Kirk Nielsen, N/A Versant Ventures IX GP (Canada), LLC
What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed.
What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Roughly 40% of venture rounds are raised under exemptions that carry no filing obligation, so a firm that does not file looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.
“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.