vcspine

Variant Fund

Variant Fund last closed a fund in September 2025 — 14 months ago. By its own rhythm, that is not yet halfway to the next one.

Next fund
Jun 2028
not due yet
last close~33 mo66 mo

Variant Fund has raised 3 times about every 33 months. The last was Variant Fund IV, L.P. That points to Jun 2028.

Historically about 1 in 8 firms this early in their cycle filed within a year. The month is approximate — how often this is right.

Deploying  This firm closed a fund in the last 18 months, so it has money to put to work now.

Still filing with the SEC: September 2026. That is an amendment to an existing offering, not a new fund - which is what an evergreen structure looks like in this data.

Funds on file
6
Capital raised
$341M+
Latest close
September 2025
Based in
FL, NY

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Variant Fund IV, L.P.September 2025$221M0002082994 ↗
Variant Opportunity Fund, L.P.March 2022not stated0001914159 ↗
Variant Fund III, L.P.March 2022not stated0001919232 ↗
Variant Holding I, L.P.February 2022$6M0001912539 ↗
Variant Fund II, LPApril 2021$100M0001861370 ↗
Variant Fund, L.P.March 2020$13M0001802423 ↗

2 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Named on filings

Jesse Walden

What Variant Fund invests in

Typical fund
$100M median, early stage, Series A-B scale
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Website
variant.fund
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, May 2026.

Service providers

Fund administrator
Carta (5 funds)
Auditor
RSM (4 funds)

From Form ADV filed by UNOFFICIAL MANAGEMENT, INC. CRD 306409 ↗, latest filing May 2026, covering 5 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.