vcspine

Thayer Ventures

Thayer Ventures last closed a fund in November 2025 — 12 months ago. By its own rhythm, that is barely into the cycle.

Next fund
Jan 2030
not due yet
last close~50 mo101 mo

Thayer Ventures has raised 4 times about every 50 months. The last was Thayer Ventures V, L.P. That points to Jan 2030.

Historically about 1 in 8 firms this early in their cycle filed within a year. The month is approximate — how often this is right.

Deploying  This firm closed a fund in the last 18 months, so it has money to put to work now.

Funds on file
7
Capital raised
$38M+
Latest close
November 2025
Based in
CA

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Thayer Ventures V, L.P.November 2025not stated0002071355 ↗
THAYER VENTURES IV, L.P.April 2022$31M0001906020 ↗
THAYER VENTURES AFFILIATES FUND IV, L.P.April 2022$7M0001906038 ↗
THAYER VENTURES III, L.P.December 2017not stated0001700621 ↗
THAYER VENTURES AFFILIATES FUND III, L.P.June 2017not stated0001710471 ↗
THAYER VENTURES AFFILIATES FUND II, L.P.April 2013not stated0001558356 ↗
THAYER VENTURES II, L.P.April 2013not stated0001558343 ↗
THAYER VENTURES ACCESS FUND, L.P. (feeder vehicle)—not stated0001673487 ↗

5 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Named on filings

Mark Farrell, Christopher Hemmeter, Michael Scott, Zachary Carrico

What Thayer Ventures invests in

Typical fund
$31M median, seed to early stage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Says it invests in
fintech
“From horizontal platforms—payments, cybersecurity, and workforce management—to vertical solutions across loyalty, distribution, and critical operating systems, we back both industry outsiders and seasoned operators.” — its own site, read September 2026
Website
thayerventures.com
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, March 2026.

Sector and stage are quoted from the firm’s own website, not inferred, and dated.

Service providers

Fund administrator
IQ-EQ (5 funds)
Auditor
BPM (4 funds)

From Form ADV filed by THAYER VENTURES MANAGEMENT COMPANY, L.L.C. CRD 285321 ↗, latest filing March 2026, covering 5 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.