vcspine

Sound Ventures

Sound Ventures last closed a fund in September 2026 — 2 months ago. By its own rhythm, that is barely into the cycle.

Next fund
Aug 2029
not due yet
last close~35 mo69 mo

Sound Ventures has raised 3 times about every 35 months. The last was Sound Ventures V, L.P. That points to Aug 2029.

Historically about 1 in 8 firms this early in their cycle filed within a year. The month is approximate — how often this is right.

Deploying  This firm closed a fund in the last 18 months, so it has money to put to work now.

Funds on file
7
Capital raised
$828M+
Latest close
September 2026
Based in
CA

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Sound Ventures V, L.P.September 2026not stated0002140437 ↗
Sound Ventures AI Follow-On Fund, L.P.February 2026not stated0002098287 ↗
Sound Ventures IV, L.P.August 2023$262M0001983578 ↗
SOUND VENTURES AI FUND, L.P.March 2023$266M0001966096 ↗
Sound Ventures Blockchain Fund, LPApril 2021not stated0001857004 ↗
Sound Ventures III, L.P.November 2020$150M offered0001829930 ↗
Sound Ventures II, L.P.—$150M offered0001744008 ↗
SOUND VENTURES AI FEEDER FUND, L.P. (feeder vehicle)May 2023$266M0001975224 ↗

3 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Named on filings

Effie Epstein, Guy Oseary, Ashton Kutcher

What Sound Ventures invests in

Typical fund
$262M median, multistage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Website
soundventures.com
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, March 2026.

Service providers

Fund administrator
Standish (5 funds), Petra (1 fund)
Auditor
KPMG (5 funds)

From Form ADV filed by SOUND DEVELOPMENT, LLC CRD 283211 ↗, latest filing March 2026, covering 6 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.