vcspine

Obvious Ventures

Obvious Ventures last closed a fund in February 2025 — 21 months ago. By its own rhythm, that is past halfway to the next one.

Next fund
Dec 2027
not due yet
last close~34 mo68 mo

Obvious Ventures has raised 5 times about every 34 months. The last was Obvious Ventures V, L.P. That points to Dec 2027.

Historically about 1 in 8 firms this early in their cycle filed within a year. The month is approximate — how often this is right.

Mid-cycle  This firm is far enough into its last fund to be investing, and too early to be raising again.

Funds on file
7
Single-deal SPVs
1
Capital raised
$1.00B+
Latest close
February 2025
Based in
CA

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Obvious Ventures V, L.P.February 2025$400M offered0002053430 ↗
Obvious Ventures IV, L.P.January 2022$400M offered0001904220 ↗
Obvious Prime II, L.P.January 2022$125M offered0001904211 ↗
Obvious Growth I, L.P.January 2021$75M offered0001840491 ↗
OBVIOUS VENTURES III, L.P.May 2019not stated0001772693 ↗
OBVIOUS VENTURES II, L.P.May 2016not stated0001672318 ↗
OBVIOUS VENTURES I, L.P.July 2014not stated0001610988 ↗
Obvious SPV I, L.L.C. (single-deal SPV)October 2020$30M offered0001829410 ↗

3 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Named on filings

Andrew Beebe, Evan Williams, James Joaquin, Vishal Vasishth, Nan Li

What Obvious Ventures invests in

Typical fund
$400M median, multistage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Website
obvious.com
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, March 2026.

Service providers

Fund administrator
Aduro (7 funds)
Auditor
Frank Rimerman (7 funds)

From Form ADV filed by OBVIOUS MANAGEMENT SERVICES LLC CRD 173187 ↗, latest filing March 2026, covering 7 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.