Flagship Pioneering last closed a fund in November 2023 — 34 months ago.
Mid-cycle This firm is partway through deploying its most recent fund.
Still filing with the SEC: November 2024. That is an amendment to an existing offering, not a new fund - which is what an evergreen structure looks like in this data.
| Vehicle | First close | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Flagship Pioneering Fund VIII, L.P. | November 2023 | $2.59B |
| Flagship Pioneering Fund VII, L.P. | May 2021 | $2.13B |
| Flagship Pioneering Special Opportunities Fund II, L.P. | December 2018 | not stated |
| Flagship Pioneering Fund VI, L.P. | September 2017 | not stated |
N/A Flagship Pioneering - Origination Fund VII General Partner LLC, N/A Flagship Pioneering Fund VI General Partner LLC, N/A Flagship Pioneering Fund VII General Partner LLC, N/A Flagship Pioneering Fund VIII General Partner LLC, N/A Flagship Pioneering Special Opportunities Fund II General Partner LLC, Noubar Afeyan, Ph.D.
What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed.
What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Roughly 40% of venture rounds are raised under exemptions that carry no filing obligation, so a firm that does not file looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.
“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.