vcspine

Contrary Capital

Contrary Capital last closed a fund in January 2025 — 22 months ago. By its own rhythm, that is past halfway to the next one.

Next fund
Jan 2028
not due yet
last close~36 mo71 mo

Contrary Capital has raised 3 times about every 36 months. The last was Contrary Capital V-A, L.P. That points to Jan 2028.

Historically about 1 in 8 firms this early in their cycle filed within a year. The month is approximate — how often this is right.

Mid-cycle  This firm is far enough into its last fund to be investing, and too early to be raising again.

Funds on file
10
Capital raised
$128M+
Latest close
January 2025
Based in
CA, NJ

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Contrary Capital V-A, L.P.January 2025not stated0002048431 ↗
Contrary Capital V, L.P.June 2024$91M0002026727 ↗
Contrary Capital IV-A, L.P.July 2023not stated0001985102 ↗
CONTRARY CAPITAL IV, LPMay 2022not stated0001922067 ↗
Contrary Capital III-A, L.P.November 2021not stated0001889906 ↗
Contrary Modern, LLCJuly 2021$250,0000001871922 ↗
Contrary Capital III, L.P.June 2021not stated0001864752 ↗
Contrary Breakout Fund I, L.P.December 2020not stated0001836248 ↗
Contrary Capital, L.P.August 2017$2M0001742301 ↗
Contrary Capital II, L.P.—$35M offered0001766125 ↗

6 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

What Contrary Capital invests in

Typical fund
$35M median, seed to early stage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Website
startupsearch.com
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, July 2026.

Service providers

Fund administrator
Carta (8 funds)
Auditor
Frank Rimerman (8 funds)

From Form ADV filed by CONTRARY LLC CRD 311054 ↗, latest filing July 2026, covering 8 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.