vcspine

Contrary

Contrary last closed a fund in August 2026 — 3 months ago.

Next fund
No rhythm to call

1 fund on record — a rhythm needs three. No month is guessed; the filing will say.

Deploying  This firm closed a fund in the last 18 months, so it has money to put to work now.

Funds on file
1
Single-deal SPVs
12
Capital raised
not stated
Latest close
August 2026
Based in
CA

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Contrary XX, L.P.August 2026not stated0002132558 ↗
Contrary XVII, a series of Contrary Holdings, LLC (single-deal SPV)January 2022$781,0000001902267 ↗
Contrary XVI, a series of Contrary Holdings, LLC (single-deal SPV)December 2021$3M0001901185 ↗
CONTRARY XV, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)November 2021not stated0001895301 ↗
CONTRARY XII, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)November 2021not stated0001893292 ↗
CONTRARY XI, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)November 2021not stated0001893293 ↗
CONTRARY XIV, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)November 2021not stated0001893290 ↗
CONTRARY XIII, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)November 2021not stated0001893291 ↗
CONTRARY X, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)October 2021not stated0001890322 ↗
CONTRARY IX, A SERIES OF CONTRARY HOLDINGS, LLC (single-deal SPV)October 2021not stated0001890321 ↗
Contrary VIII, a series of Contrary Holdings, LLC (single-deal SPV)October 2021not stated0001888094 ↗
Contrary VII, a series of Contrary Holdings, LLC (single-deal SPV)September 2021not stated0001880818 ↗
Contrary VI, a series of Contrary Holdings, LLC (single-deal SPV)August 2021$500,0000001878509 ↗

1 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Service providers

Fund administrator
None reported — the adviser answered “no administrator” for 1 of 1 fund
Auditor
Frank Rimerman (1 fund)

From Form ADV filed by CONTRARY LLC CRD 311054 ↗, latest filing July 2026, covering 1 fund linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.