vcspine

Canaan

Canaan last closed a fund in April 2024 — 31 months ago.

Next fund
No rhythm to call

It raises on several lines, too close together for one rhythm. No month is guessed; the filing will say.

Mid-cycle  This firm is far enough into its last fund to be investing, and too early to be raising again.

Funds on file
6
Capital raised
$600M+
Latest close
April 2024
Based in
CA, CT

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
Canaan XIII Healthcare Fund L.P.April 2024not stated0002017296 ↗
Canaan XIII L.P.January 2023not stated0001960278 ↗
Canaan IX L.P.January 2012$600M0001538676 ↗
CANAAN X L.P.—not stated0001619859 ↗
Canaan XI L.P.—not stated0001712417 ↗
Canaan XII L.P.—not stated0001809934 ↗

5 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.

Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

What Canaan invests in

Typical fund
$600M median, multistage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Website
canaanpartners.com
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, March 2026.

Service providers

Fund administrator
None reported — the adviser answered “no administrator” for 6 of 6 funds
Auditor
EY (6 funds)

From Form ADV filed by CANAAN MANAGEMENT, LLC CRD 161180 ↗, latest filing March 2026, covering 6 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.