BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND last closed a fund in December 2025 — 9 months ago.
This firm closed a fund recently and has capital to put to work.
| Vehicle | First close | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND V, L.P. | December 2025 | not stated |
| BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND IV, L.P. | April 2023 | not stated |
| BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND III, L.P. | January 2021 | not stated |
| BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND I, L.P. | January 2018 | $9M |
| BACKGROUND CAPITAL FUND II, L.P. | — | not stated |
4 of these filed no amount (an “Indefinite” offering), so the total above is a floor.
GENERAL PARTNER BACKGROUND CAPITAL GP I, L.L.C., GENERAL PARTNER BACKGROUND CAPITAL GP II, L.L.C, GENERAL PARTNER BACKGROUND CAPITAL GP III, L.L.C., GENERAL PARTNER BACKGROUND CAPITAL GP IV, L.L.C., GENERAL PARTNER BACKGROUND CAPITAL GP V, L.L.C., RAFAEL CORRALES
Dated from filing date; no date of first sale was reported.
What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed.
What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Roughly 40% of venture rounds are raised under exemptions that carry no filing obligation, so a firm that does not file looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.
“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.