vcspine

500 Startups

500 Startups last closed a fund in December 2022 — 47 months ago.

Next fund
No rhythm to call

It raises on several lines, too close together for one rhythm. No month is guessed; the filing will say.

Late-cycle  This firm is deep enough into its last fund that a new one would not be a surprise.

Still filing with the SEC: December 2024. That is an amendment to an existing offering, not a new fund - which is what an evergreen structure looks like in this data.

Funds on file
18
Single-deal SPVs
2
Capital raised
$760M
Latest close
December 2022
Based in
CA

Vehicles on file

VehicleFirst closeAmount Filings
500 MENA, L.P.December 2022$43M0001957227 ↗
500 GEORGIA, L.P.November 2022$14M0001953956 ↗
500 SOUTHEAST ASIA III, L.P.August 2020$39M0001820161 ↗
500 Startups Korea II, L.P.June 2019$24M0001769075 ↗
500 Startups V, L.P.June 2019$138M0001773202 ↗
500 Startups Canada, L.P.May 2017$22M offered0001682134 ↗
500 Startups Vietnam, L.P.April 2017$5M0001667852 ↗
500 Startups Istanbul, L.P.July 2016$6M0001667974 ↗
500 Startups JP, L.P.February 2016$30M offered0001657603 ↗
500 Startups IV, L.P.February 2016$200M offered0001652541 ↗
500 Kimchi, L.P.May 2015$15M offered0001634593 ↗
500 Startups III, L.P.October 2013$100M offered0001588078 ↗
500 Startups Annex Fund, L.P.January 2013$10M offered0001563685 ↗
500 Startups II, L.P.April 2012$50M offered0001546669 ↗
500 Startups-A, L.P.July 2010$44,9500001499318 ↗
500 Startups, L.P.July 2010$30M offered0001492561 ↗
500 StartupWallah, L.P.—$5M offered0001562633 ↗
500 Startups Japan, L.P.—$30M offered0001652544 ↗
500 Startups IV-A, L.P. (parallel vehicle of the same fund, counted once)February 2016$200M offered0001652540 ↗
500 Startups III-A, L.P. (parallel vehicle of the same fund, counted once)October 2013$100M offered0001588104 ↗
500 Startups II-A, L.P. (parallel vehicle of the same fund, counted once)April 2012$50M offered0001546670 ↗
500 Southeast Asia SPV III, L.P. (single-deal SPV)June 2023not stated0001978908 ↗
500 Southeast Asia SPV II, L.P. (single-deal SPV)August 2021not stated0001878272 ↗

Each row links to that vehicle’s Form D filings on EDGAR — the name, date and amount above should match what is filed there.

Named on filings

Christine Tsai, David McClure, Christen O'Brien, Timothy Chae, Bedy Yang, James Riney, Khailee Ng, Binh Tran

What 500 Startups invests in

Typical fund
$30M median, seed to early stage
Median of this firm’s filed fund sizes on Form D.
Says it invests in
climate/energy
“Through aligned capital strategies, we support bringing new market actors into priority sectors, reduce barriers to investment, and enable sustainable financing models that support long-term national development goals.” — its own site, read September 2026
Website
500.co
As filed by the adviser on Form ADV, June 2019.

Sector and stage are quoted from the firm’s own website, not inferred, and dated.

Service providers

Fund administrator
Standish (10 funds); no administrator reported for 1 fund
Auditor
Sensiba (10 funds)

From Form ADV filed by 500 STARTUPS MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LLC CRD 161526 ↗, latest filing March 2026, covering 11 funds linked to this firm by Form D file number. Form ADV is filed once a year, so a provider may have changed since. How this is matched.

What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed. Service providers, where shown, come from the adviser’s Form ADV and are dated.

What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Capital deployed from a family office, a corporate balance sheet or an evergreen structure never arrives as a fund close, so a firm doing that looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.

“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.