Section last closed a fund in March 2023 — 42 months ago.
Late-cycle This firm is far enough into its last fund that a new raise would be normal.
Still filing with the SEC: September 2025. That is an amendment to an existing offering, not a new fund - which is what an evergreen structure looks like in this data.
| Vehicle | First close | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Section Ventures II, LP | March 2023 | $23M |
| Section 32 Fund 5, LP | July 2022 | $481M |
| Section 32 Fund 4, LP | July 2021 | not stated |
| Section Ventures, LP | June 2020 | $24M |
| Section 32 Fund 2, LP | January 2018 | not stated |
| Section 32 Fund 1, LP | May 2017 | $151M |
| Section 32 Fund 3, LP | — | not stated |
Bill Maris, John David Crowder, N/A Section Partners Management, LLC, N/A Section Ventures Associates II, LLC, N/A Section Ventures Associates, LLC, William Maris
What this is. Every figure on this page comes from Form D filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — public records, reproduced here as filed.
What it is not. Single-deal SPVs, feeder vehicles and GP or employee commitment funds are listed but excluded from fund counts and capital totals: an SPV is one investment, a feeder holds the same capital as its master, and a “Principals” or “Entrepreneurs” fund closes alongside a main fund rather than being raised in its own right. Roughly 40% of venture rounds are raised under exemptions that carry no filing obligation, so a firm that does not file looks quiet here. Amounts are as of the last amendment and go stale. Dates are the date of first sale — a fund's first close, not its final one. Funds filed as “Indefinite” are excluded from totals rather than counted as zero, so a total is a floor.
“No recent fund” is a statement about filings. It is not a statement about whether a firm is solvent, investing, or still in business.